self-love

hey guys!

hope you are off to a good start to your week! yesterday and today the sun was out and the weather has been beautiful. spring feels like it’s coming!

Image

it’s been tough to wake up early though now that the sun doesn’t start to peek up until around 7. but i have been really getting into breakfast in bed. here are some of my favorite breakfasts…

Image

non-fat greek yogurt, blackberries, pomegranate seed, crunchy peanut butter, banana, and agave

Image

siggi’s blueberry yogurt, pomegranate seeds, mango, peanut butter and latte flavored zico (AMAZING)

Image

another yogurt bowl with blackberries, dried fruit, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds, plus lots of PB!

i LOVE breakfast. i thinks it’s my favorite meal of the day, and there is nothing more relaxing than waking up, making a yummy breakfast, and reading or writing before getting ready for the day. it really gets me started off right. it’s a gift for myself.

since my recent break-up, i have been relishing in new things like peaceful breakfasts in bed or long nights with girlfriends. but obviously it’s still tough. i find myself already long for someone knew; for that comfort of being in a relationship. i can totally tell i am the type of person who feels the need for a companion to make me love myself more and it’s hard to work through that.

i have been thinking a lot on runs and long walks and my commute to and from work. i have been grappling lots with things i didn’t deal with in my relationship because of the comfort and stability it provided. like my body image issues or self-confidence in who i am or my careers/passions. i always want to look or seem a certain way. it’s so easy with facebook and instagram to constantly compare myself to other people instead of figuring my own self out. this last relationship was a crutch in some ways for deepening my self discovery. thankfully, this mourning/reflective post-relationship period is challenging me to deepen it. it’s starting with self-love. i have to fall in love with myself and who i am before i am ready for the right person who will come along.

so more breakfast in bed. more yoga. more singing. more dancing. more running. more smilling. more talking to strangers. more giving compliments. more hugs. more home-cooked meals. more random text messages. more long walks. more hot showers. more writing. more reading. more loving. more blissing. more laughing. more self-love.

Image

(taken from tumblr)

i am heading to st. louis on thursday. can’t wait to get out of the city for a long weekend. more to come. thanks for reading.

how are you loving yourself?

xo juls

 

One thought on “self-love

Leave a Reply

