home town lovin’

happy saturday!!!!!

wow this long weekend at home has been filled with gratitude. i am so happy to be relaxing and enjoying the gorgeous spring weather with my friends and family.

on thursday afternoon i got settled at home and had a home-cooked meal in the dining room. hooray for space, kitchen, and momma’s meals!

Image

the sun setting through the window in a room full of candles with food and laughter is my idea of a perfect welcome.

Image

my mom made an awesome Vietnamese dish with greens and veggies, noodles, and amazing shrimp. she is a rockstar in the kitchen and continues to inspire me. Vietnamese seems super intimidating to me, but my mom just went for it and it was delish.

friday morning i woke up slowly. big breakfast on the couch, doing a little writing and reading. i had to go for a run, even though i was suuuuper comfortable. the weather and sun were just too nice to pass up.

yesterday i had one of those runs where i felt like i could keep going and going. i recently got back into running from a 4 month stint of no runs, and i can’t believe how comfortable i have been feeling with my runs (knock on wood) ;). while getting back into running i have been practicing yoga about 4 times a week as well, and i truly think it has made a difference for me. i feel so light and free on my runs. my connection to my breath is steady and running is enjoyable and doesn’t feel like a chore. i felt very powerful yesterday, which felt reaaalll good.

Image

check out my first selfie on this blog…looking sweaty and happy because i was!

the afternoon rounded out with a nature walk with my mom.

Image

to be submersed in rows of trees, piles of leaves, and wandering on a rocky trail without a skyscraper at its end felt good. i had to pause and take notice that i was completely immersed in this nature path. there were no taxis driving by, no empty plastic water bottles on the trail, and no buildings obstructing my view of the trees and sunny sky. it was an itty bitty miracle, and a sweet, packed ounce of bliss.

this morning i hit the road with my dad and ran to a coffee shop sans music. i don’t remember the last time i ran without tunes, but i figured since i felt so great yesterday i would be fine. and i was. again i felt like i could keep going and going, running forever. so motivating. it was also nice to chat with my dad as we ran on, rounding out the morning with a vanilla almond milk latte. so so good.

i am curious to give running without music another try especially without someone to chat with as i run. i am curious to see how i would handle it. just me, my thoughts, my legs, and i. hmmm.

i hope you all are taking it easy this weekend. relax, find nature, and bliss out.

Image

midwest…water towers, wires, and open skies

xo juls

Leave a Reply

